Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


Ruixuan Gao named Searle Scholar for 2022!

Ruixuan Gao named 2022 Searle Scholar.

Ruixuan Gao, UIC assistant professor of chemistry and biological sciences, has been named a 2022 Searle Scholar! He is the second UIC scholar to receive the award, which supports ground-breaking research in chemistry…

The Jiang group has imaged oxidation at the atomic level

Jiang Group's Recent Paper in Nature Communications

The Jiang group’s new article entitled “Chemically identifying single adatoms with single-bond sensitivity during oxidation reactions of borophene” was published by Nature Communications ( In this work, they used ultrahigh vacuum tip-enhanced Raman…

Alexa Cabrera and Assma Ali have published a report with Profs. Yermolina and Papadantonakis

Undergraduate researchers have a bright future!

Two undergraduate researchers, Alexa Cabrera and Assma Ali, have published a report in the journal Computational and Theoretical Chemistry with Profs. Yermolina and Papadantonakis. Alexa Cabrera is a 2022 graduate and will join…

Profs. Mohr and Snee won teaching awards in the 2022 academic year.

Faculty Win Top Teaching Honors!

Profs. Justin Mohr and Preston Snee were honored with teaching awards in the 2022 academic year. Prof. Mohr was honored with the Silver Circle Award, which since 1966 has been presented to some…

Owen Krooswyk is the youngest member of the department!

Addition to the Department Family!

Alum Joel Krooswyk and his wife, Amanda, recently welcomed a baby boy, Owen, into the world. Joel started his scientific career as an undergraduate researcher at UIC and eventually graduated with a Ph.D.…

Sara Siddiqui has won a graduate fellowship to study chemistry.

Siddiqui wins NSF GRFP!

Our own Sara Siddiqui, an undergraduate senior majoring in chemistry at UIC, has won an NSF GRFP  award that supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and…

Profs. Cologna and Ryu have both won Career Awards!

Several NSF Career awards to UIC and Chemistry!

Six rising scholars at the University of Illinois Chicago have earned the prestigious Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation, including Chemistry’s Stephanie Cologna and Minjung Ryu. The UIC researchers’…

The Snee group has been awarded the JCP Editor's Choice Award for their article.

Snee Group awarded Editors’ Choice article in JCP

An article from UIC’s Snee group and researchers from Prof. Haw Yang’s group at Princeton, “Leveraging lifetime information to perform real-time 3D single-particle tracking in noisy environments” published in the Journal of Chemical…