Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


The Cologna group has created visual maps of gangliosides in mouse brain tissue.

Recent Faculty Accomplishments!

Two of our faculty have reported substantial new findings in several publications. Prof. Stephanie Cologna recently published “Mass Spectrometry Imaging of Lipids: Generation of Untargeted Consensus Spectra Reveals Spatial Distributions in Niemann-Pick Disease,…

Dr. Marvin Parasram wins Outstanding Thesis Award

Dr. Marvin Parasram wins Outstanding Thesis Award!

Congratulations to alum Dr. Marvin Parasram on being selected to receive a 2018 Annual Graduate College Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Award for his doctoral dissertation titled “Development of Heck and Desaturation Reactions Involving…

Prof. Cho has been named a fellow of the AAAS.

Prof. Cho named as a fellow of the AAAS

(November 27, 2018) Wonhwa Cho has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He joins Michael Trenary and Huan-Xiang Zhou as the third member of this distinguished group…

Prof. Ben Stokes will be the alum speaker at Chemistry Day 2018!

Announcing the 2018 Chemistry Research Symposium!

The UIC Chemistry Research Symposium is a yearly event open to post-doctoral fellows, graduate students, and undergraduate students who want to showcase their research. This year’s speaker is alum Prof. Benjamin Stokes, Assistant…

Kayla Storme won a NSF Fellowship! This is a significant honor for an undergrad.

Kayla Storme wins 2018 NSF GRFP Fellowship

Congratulations to undergraduate student Kayla Storme on being selected to receive a 2018 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship! This program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering,…

Prof. Fung wins the 2018 Silver Circle Award

Prof. Fung wins Silver Circle Award!

Our own Prof. Leslie Wo-Mei Fung has won the 2018 Silver Circle Award! Since 1966 the Silver Circle is the highest teaching honor that the University bestows upon the faculty. Prof. Fung will…

Prof. Yang has a method to measure the structural changes of proteins using time-resolved X-ray Diffraction.

Prof. Xiaojing Yang wins CBC catalyst award!

Our own Xiaojing Yang, together with Minglei Zhao of the University of Chicago, won a Chicago Biomecdical Consortium Grant for their project titled, “Observing Protein Allostery Dynamics by Single-Particle Imaging.” The $250K grant…