Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


Prof. Minjung Ryu is joining the UIC Chemistry faculty as a chemical educator.

New Faculty Minjung Ryu!

The UIC Chemistry Department recently hired Dr. Minjung Ryu as our newest Chemistry Education faculty member! Dr. Ryu’s research focuses on issues of diversity and equity in chemistry education and more broadly in…

Melissa Pergande has recently published two 1st authord articles and won a travel grant from Cayman Chemicals

Graduate Student win Grant!

Melissa Pergande received a Women in Research Travel Award from Cayman Chemicals, having just published two papers (“Quantitative, Label‐free Proteomics in the Symptomatic Niemann‐Pick, Type C1 Mouse Model Using Standard Flow Liquid Chromatography…

Andy Nguyen is our newest faculty member!

New Faculty Andy Nguyen!

The UIC Chemistry Department recently hired Dr. Andy Nguyen as our newest Inorganic / Bioinorganic chemistry faculty member! Prof. Nguyen’s research aims to transpose the features that make metalloproteins highly effective functional molecules…

Marija Zoric recieves the 2018 Gerhard Closs award.

Marija Zoric wins the 2018 Gerhard Closs Award!

It is our great pleasure to announce that Marija Zoric, a PhD student in the Glusac group at UIC’s Chemistry Department, has received the 2018 Gerhard Closs award. This prestigious award is given annually by…

The Cologna group has created visual maps of gangliosides in mouse brain tissue.

Recent Faculty Accomplishments!

Two of our faculty have reported substantial new findings in several publications. Prof. Stephanie Cologna recently published “Mass Spectrometry Imaging of Lipids: Generation of Untargeted Consensus Spectra Reveals Spatial Distributions in Niemann-Pick Disease,…

Dr. Marvin Parasram wins Outstanding Thesis Award

Dr. Marvin Parasram wins Outstanding Thesis Award!

Congratulations to alum Dr. Marvin Parasram on being selected to receive a 2018 Annual Graduate College Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Award for his doctoral dissertation titled “Development of Heck and Desaturation Reactions Involving…

Prof. Cho has been named a fellow of the AAAS.

Prof. Cho named as a fellow of the AAAS

(November 27, 2018) Wonhwa Cho has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He joins Michael Trenary and Huan-Xiang Zhou as the third member of this distinguished group…

Prof. Ben Stokes will be the alum speaker at Chemistry Day 2018!

Announcing the 2018 Chemistry Research Symposium!

The UIC Chemistry Research Symposium is a yearly event open to post-doctoral fellows, graduate students, and undergraduate students who want to showcase their research. This year’s speaker is alum Prof. Benjamin Stokes, Assistant…

Kayla Storme won a NSF Fellowship! This is a significant honor for an undergrad.

Kayla Storme wins 2018 NSF GRFP Fellowship

Congratulations to undergraduate student Kayla Storme on being selected to receive a 2018 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship! This program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering,…